Bistro Vendome.

Reservation #4: Bistro Vendôme.

Located in Larimer Square downtown, the owners of Rioja, located on Larimer Square as well, bring you Bistro Vendôme. A quaint eatery tucked away and full of flavor and charm. After experiencing Rioja last summer, I knew Bistro Vendôme would not disappoint. With three courses and almost their entire menu available, I experienced flavors and food only a culinary expert could think up.

Course one, we ordered Bisque de Champignons (mushroom and cognac bisque, grilled baguette, mushroom sauté) and Escargots de Bourgogne (baked escargot, herb compound, butter, red burgundy glaze, crunch brioche crust). The mushroom bisque was rich and full of flavor. If you love mushrooms, which I do, you will love this. Now, for the foodie I am, you might be surprised I have never tried escargot. It’s true, I never have. That is, until this meal. The flavor: earthy. The texture: chewy. All I can say is, I didn’t hate it, I didn’t love it. I’ll probably never have it again. Okay, on to the second course. We ordered Truite en Croûte de Pistaches (sautéed pistachio and spice crusted trout, new potatoes, asparagus, bacon, onions, red peppers, parsley oil) and Coquilles St. Jacques avec Risotto (pan seared scallops, risotto, sautéed haricot vert, pear chutney, vanilla bean beurre blanc). The scallops were cooked perfectly and the risotto was rich and creamy. Amazing. The trout, I don’t even have words. It was crusted perfectly and the vegetables on top were tender and full of flavor. For the third course we shared the Blood Orange Chocolate Crepes (chocolate crepe, blood orange cream, chocolate streusel, red wine reduction). This dessert was to die for. Orange and chocolate are two flavors I love together. I can’t resist.

I only have one thing to say: Best food coma ever.

Leave a Reply

