Yes, it’s raw fish.

I love going out for sushi. It’s fun to switch up dinner and order different rolls or sashimi and eat with chopsticks. I have never tried to make sushi rolls, but have always wanted to. For Christmas my brother gave me a sushi set. He even included a grocery store gift card so I could buy the ingredients. What a guy!

I was a bit nervous at first, but making rolls really isn’t to difficult. The only part you really need to worry about is making the rice sticky enough. This was definitely tedious, but is well worth it in order to make the rice the right texture. I decided to go with an easy, traditional roll the first time around in case I completely botched it. I used seaweed, rice, salmon, tuna, cucumbers and avocados. Click here to learn how to make sticky rice.

This was the first time my dad had tried sushi. He psyched himself out thinking about eating raw fish, but he liked the rolls overall. I’m sure he will give it another go around!

If you have never tried to make sushi I would recommend giving it a try. It’s not as hard as you would think. My next task is to figure out how to make rolls with the rice on the outside of the roll and the seaweed inside.

What you need to make sushi: Rolling Mat, Chopstick Set, Serving Dish (all from Crate&Barrel)

One thought on “Yes, it’s raw fish.

  1. super impressed 1) that your bro gave you such a cool gift….2) that your
    sushi would put any chef out of business. looks amazing. missing you!
    OXXOXOXOX mary ellen

Leave a Reply

